Skip to content ↓

Sports

The extensive range of traditional team games, and competitive and recreational activities which we provide for students, forms a vital part of the Gordon’s curriculum because the character qualities required to be successful in sport are essential to academic and life success.

"Competitive sport is a key component in building self-esteem, confidence, school ethos and academic excellence."

sir michael wilshaw, her majesty's chief inspector of schools 2012-2016

For Inter-House Sports news and results click here.

For the Summer Term fixtures list click here.

Gold mark for Sports and PE

For the fourth consecutive year that the PE and Sports Department has been awarded the Gold Mark – awarded to schools for their commitment to the development of competition across their school and into the community – and Gordon's is the only one in the county to have done so.

Set in over 50 acres of beautiful Surrey countryside, Gordon’s offers a vast range of sporting opportunities from golf and rounders to horse riding and go-karting. A number of its students representing the school also play for district; county and national teams.

Head of Sport and PE Jamie Harrison said the award reflected the “…commitment,  effort and enthusiasm shown by staff day in and day out, which allows Gordon’s School students to take full advantage of all the wonderful sporting opportunities offered to them.”

Recent Successes

  • 1st XI football team semi-finalists in the English Schools' FA Cup
  • 1st XI football team winning the national state boarding schools cup
  • 1st XI hockey team winning the national state boarding schools cup
  • 1st VII netball team runners-up in the national state boarding schools cup
  • Gordon's karting team British Schools Karting Championships national finalists for the 3rd successive year
  • U16 rugby XV runners-up in the Surrey Cup
heads of sport 
Director of Co-Curricular Ms C Holmes cholmes@gordons.school
Director of Sport Mr J Harrison jharrison@gordons.school
Head of Athletics Ms M Justice mjustice@gordons.school
Head of Cross Country Mr S Monk smonk@gordons.school
Head of Cycling Mr S Long slong@gordons.school
Head of Equestrian Ms S Maslen smaslen@gordons.school
Head of Football Mr P King pking@gordons.school
Head of Golf Mr D Mathews dmathews@gordons.school
Head of Hockey Mr J Harrison jharrison@gordons.school
Head of Karting Mr J Sinclair jsinclair@gordons.school
Head of Kayaking Mr S Hynds shynds@gordons.school
Head of Netball Mrs S Forster sforster@gordons.school
Head of Rowing Ms K Klavenes kklavenes@gordons.school
Head of Rugby Mr C Davies cdavies@gordons.school
Head of Swimming Mr S Monk smonk@gordons.school
Head of Cricket Mr P King pking@gordons.school
Head of Rounders Ms H Shires hshires@gordons.school